Tags

, , , ,

I’ve always been an advocate of transferring two embryos, statistically it has been shown to increase chances, albeit by a small percentage. My own experience shows that I get pregnant transferring 1 or 2 embryos – though slightly more successful when transferring 2 (by successful I mean positive pregnancy test rather than actually having a baby).

Transfer 1 – 2 poor quality embryos transferred – chemical pregnancy

Transfer 2 – 1 excellent quality hatching embryo transferred – chemical pregnancy

Transfer 3 – 1 ok quality embryo transferred (frozen cycle) – negative

Transfer 4 – 2 good quality embryos transferred – miscarriage (1 embryo)

Transfer 5 – 1 normal PGS tested hatching embryo transferred – negative

Transfer 6 – 2 normal PGS tested embryos transferred (1 hatching) – miscarriage (1 embryo)

With my latest cycle I have 2 normal PGS tested embryos of good quality. My gut feeling is to transfer both as I have never got pregnant with twins when transferring 2 and I think it gives me marginally more chance of success this cycle. Also I’m so sick of taking drugs and if it failed with 1 would find it hard to psyche myself up for a second cycle, though if it fails and I’ve transferred both then I’m out of options.

Also, new research is now suggesting that transferring 2 embryos could have a detrimental impact on your changes of getting pregnant. I need to look into this a bit more but it does read as if the detrimental impact accrues if you have different quality embryos transferred – eg 1 good quality and 1 poor quality – as the body focusses on the poor quality embryo and rejects implantation. I’m not sure how robust this study is – I’ll be looking into it a bit more. I will also raise it with my clinic (though they only want me to transfer 1 embryo so will probably seize on my hesitation). Both my embryos are good quality which the study seems to suggest wouldn’t increase my chances of pregnancy by transferring two but neither would it decrease my chances. And perhaps the fact the embryos are normal could be relevant – the study doesn’t mention PGS tested embryos. Ah, all so confusing just when I had made up my mind!!